Skip to main content
Back to Blog
The Best Outcome Tracking Software for Therapists in 2026: 12 Tools Compared

The Best Outcome Tracking Software for Therapists in 2026: 12 Tools Compared

By Tanner Oliver, LCSW ·May 4, 2026

Short answer. For a solo or group therapy practice that wants validated measures, a before-and-after comparison of client scores against published change thresholds, and automatic alerts — running alongside the EHR you already have — the strongest fit is Theracharts (free for up to 10 active clients, then $25 per therapist per month). The cheapest full measure library is PsychSurveys ($4.99–5.99 per month). Greenspace is the most structured curated MBC workflow for one clinician ($24.99–39.99). Blueprint bundles measures into an AI-notes product. Program directors at agencies and treatment programs generally look at Mirah, Trac9, or EBP Toolkit. If your EHR is SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, Owl, or Valant, its built-in measures may be enough for light needs; the sections below say exactly what each one includes.

This category goes by several names — outcome tracking software, outcome measurement software, outcome assessment software, measurement-based care (MBC) software, routine outcome monitoring (ROM) — and they all describe the same thing: software that delivers validated clinical measures to clients, scores them, charts change over treatment, and tells you when a client is off course. This guide compares twelve options across solo, group, and program settings. It's written by a licensed clinician who has used most of these tools in real clinical work.

Disclosure: Theracharts is one of the tools on this list. It's the one I built. I've tried to be honest about what it does well and what other tools do better. Every price and feature claim below was re-checked against each vendor's public pages on September 13, 2026; they change, so verify before you buy.

The comparison at a glance

ToolBest forMeasure libraryBefore/after comparisonAlertsRuns alongside your EHR?Price (solo)
TherachartsOutcome tracking + daily Diary Cards next to any EHR100+ validated instruments, all plansTrend charts with published reliable-change / MCID thresholds per measure; baseline vs latest in every Clinical UpdateThreshold crossings, risk items (PHQ-9 item 9 auto-assigns C-SSRS), off-track trajectory, alliance rupture, disengagementYes — paste-ready Clinical Updates, no integration neededFree (10 clients) / $25 per seat per month
PsychSurveysCheapest full library; DBT diary cards267 pre-configured surveysScore charts over timeClient reminders only; no clinician score alertsYes — export$4.99 (annual) / $5.99 (monthly)
GreenspaceStructured MBC for an individual provider18 (Basic) / 26 adult + child measures (Premium)Progress graphs; aggregate dashboard on PremiumNot stated on individual plansYes; EHR integrations on org tier$24.99 / $39.99 per month
BlueprintAI progress notes with measures included600+ "clinical tools" (measures, worksheets, interventions)Progress across sessionsNot the product's focusYes ($0.99/session or $69/seat) or its own EHR ($1.49/session)Usage-based
SimplePractice (built-in)Already on SimplePractice, moderate MBC needs~23 measures (PHQ-9, GAD-7, PCL-5, DASS-21, OCI-R, C-SSRS…)Graph per measure; change since baseline and last measureFlags PHQ-9 suicidal-ideation item and C-SSRS severityIt is the EHRIncluded (plan not stated)
TherapyNotes (built-in)Already on TherapyNotes, light MBC needsPHQ-9, PHQ-A, GAD-7, ACE, CAGE-AID, AIMS and others, English + SpanishOutcome Measure Insights score-over-time view (2025)Not statedIt is the EHRIncluded
Owl PracticePractices already on Owl's EHR85+Graphed in client profileNot statedIt is the EHRPro $49 / Group $49 (US); measures on upper tiers
ValantBehavioral health group practices on Valant's EHR80+Tracked over time in the chartCompletion trackingIt is the EHRSales-led
MirahHealth systems, collaborative care, multi-informant400–540+Enterprise dashboardsEnterprise workflowsAPI, FHIR, HL7, SFTPContact sales
Trac9Detox, residential, PHP/IOP, SUD programsWeekly program batteryProgram and clinician dashboardsAbnormal-progress alerts, weekly relapse-risk levelEnterpriseContact sales
EBP ToolkitAgencies standardizing on specific EBPsMeasure libraries tied to 15 EBPsProgress charts, funder reportsNot statedYesUnder $7 per active clinician per month
MyOutcomes / Better Outcomes NowFeedback-Informed Treatment (ORS/SRS)ORS/SRS onlyPredictive trajectory vs. client's ownPredictive alertsExport / EHR plug-in (agencies)$250 per year (MyOutcomes solo); BON on request
MentalycSession-transcript signals, not questionnairesNo standardized measuresSymptom and alliance trends inferred from sessionsn/aNote export$19.99–119.99 per month

What outcome tracking software actually needs to do

Before comparing products, it's worth being explicit about the criteria that matter in evidence-based therapy — not the features that sound good on a marketing page.

Validated assessments out of the box. PHQ-9, GAD-7, PCL-5, DASS-21, and the rest of the standard library should be available with correct auto-scoring and severity bands. If a tool requires you to build the PHQ-9 from scratch, it doesn't understand outcome tracking.

A real before-and-after comparison. A score from a single session is a data point. What you need is the change from baseline interpreted against a published threshold — a reliable change index (RCI) or minimal clinically important difference (MCID) — so that "PHQ-9 went from 16 to 12" becomes "a 4-point drop, one point short of the 5-point change the literature calls clinically meaningful."

Client-side completion. A PHQ-9 on a clipboard in the waiting room burns five minutes of every session. Clients should complete assigned measures on their phone before they arrive.

Alerts you don't have to go looking for. When a score crosses a threshold, a risk item is endorsed, or a client stops responding, the system should tell you. Nobody manually scans trend lines for every client every week.

Clean export back into your notes. Whatever the tool produces needs to land in your EHR — a paste-ready summary or a PDF that drops into the session note. Anything that traps your data is a problem.

Pricing that matches your reality. Solo therapists shouldn't pay for a 50-seat license. Group practices shouldn't be priced like an EHR.

Theracharts

Theracharts is outcome tracking software built to run alongside your existing EHR rather than replace it. It ships 100+ validated instruments with auto-scoring, severity bands, and longitudinal trend charts, plus a configurable Diary Card for day-to-day behavioral tracking (DBT-rooted, modality-agnostic, with emotions, urges, behaviors, sleep, medication, and custom items). Clients complete assigned measures through a mobile web app that installs to their home screen, with push reminders on the cadence you set. Therapists can also enter a diary card in session.

What separates it from a survey-delivery tool is the interpretation layer:

  • Before-and-after comparison against published thresholds. Each measure carries its own reliable-change or MCID threshold with the source citation — 5 points on the PHQ-9 (Löwe et al., 2004), 4 points MCID and 6 points RCI on the GAD-7 (Toussaint et al., 2020), 15 points RCI on the PCL-5 (Marx et al., 2022), 6 points on the CORE-10 (Barkham et al.). Change is reported as reliable, meaningful, or within measurement error — not just "down 4."
  • Alerts. Threshold crossings; risk-item endorsement (a PHQ-9 item 9 response above zero auto-assigns the C-SSRS Screener); off-track trajectory flags for PHQ-9 and GAD-7 clients whose scores are improving more slowly than an expected recovery curve; alliance-rupture flags from a low working-alliance score; and a nudge when a client has gone quiet for two weeks.
  • Clinical Updates. A data-grounded narrative of what changed since your last note — baseline vs. latest scores, alerts, diary-card patterns, goal progress — that you review, copy, and paste into SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, Jane, Alma, or wherever your record lives. No integration, no migration.
  • Group-practice oversight. A practice-wide outcomes dashboard (improving / stable / declining by measure, 30-day to all-time windows), supervisor read-only access to supervisee caseloads, and a digital BAA flow.

Pricing: a free plan (up to 10 active clients, the full assessment library, Diary Cards) and one paid plan at $25 per therapist per month, or $250 per year — unlimited clients, AI insights, Clinical Updates. Team features unlock automatically at the second seat. Built by a licensed clinical social worker; HIPAA-compliant with signed BAAs across every vendor that touches PHI.

Best for: Therapists and group practices who want outcome tracking, daily behavioral tracking, and interpretation in one tool, without paying for an EHR replacement.

Trade-offs: It's not an EHR. Scheduling, billing, and the legal record stay in SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, Jane, or Alma. It runs alongside them, not instead of them.

Start free with Theracharts → No card required; the free plan covers 10 active clients.

PsychSurveys

PsychSurveys is the budget option and has been around long enough to have a loyal DBT following. It offers 267 pre-configured surveys, customizable diary cards, automatic scoring, and free client iOS and Android apps that remind clients when a survey or diary card is due. At $4.99 per month on an annual plan ($5.99 monthly, 30-day free trial), it's hard to beat on price, and the client app is usable. (Note the vendor's site is psychsurveys.com; the old .org domain now points somewhere unrelated.)

Best for: Solo clinicians — especially DBT therapists — who want a large measure library and diary cards for the price of a coffee.

Trade-offs: It's a survey-delivery tool, not an interpretation layer. You get score charts, but no clinician-side score alerts, no reliable-change interpretation, no AI summaries, and nothing that writes back to your notes. The interface shows its age. We wrote a direct Theracharts vs. PsychSurveys comparison if you're weighing the two.

Greenspace Health

Greenspace is a structured measurement-based-care platform with a strong research and organizational footprint, widely used in Canadian health systems. For individual providers it sells two self-serve plans: Basic at $24.99 per month (18 evidence-based assessments, automated delivery, unlimited clients) and Premium at $39.99 (adds 8 adult measures plus child and parent measures, customizable delivery frequency, a waiting-room kiosk, and an aggregate dashboard). Organizations get unlimited measures, supervision workflows, and EHR integrations on a sales-led tier.

Best for: Clinicians who want a disciplined MBC workflow with progress graphs and are fine with a curated measure set.

Trade-offs: The individual plans cap the library — if your caseload needs OCI-R, ISI, or eating-disorder measures, check the list first. No diary-card-style daily tracking.

Blueprint

Blueprint started as an MBC platform and is now positioned as "the AI support system for therapists," with measures included. Its library is listed as 600+ clinical tools (assessments, worksheets, interventions), and client progress is tracked across sessions from completed questionnaires. Pricing is usage-based: $0.99 per session alongside your EHR, $69 per seat per month for unlimited sessions, or $1.49 per session on its all-in-one EHR tier.

Best for: Therapists who primarily want AI progress notes and are happy to get outcome measures as part of the bundle.

Trade-offs: Outcome tracking is no longer the center of the product. The pricing page gives it one line. Expect a thinner MBC workflow — alerts, threshold interpretation, daily tracking — than the dedicated tools. Per-session pricing adds up across a full caseload.

SimplePractice built-in measures

SimplePractice's measurement-based care feature is more capable than most people assume. Its library currently lists about 23 scored measures — GAD-7, PHQ-9, PHQ-15, PCL-5, DASS-21, OCI-R, AUDIT, AUDIT-C, WHODAS 2.0, ASRS v1.1, C-SSRS, and others — each auto-scored with a scoring interpretation. Every score plots on a per-measure graph showing change since baseline and since the last administration, measures can be sent automatically before or after each appointment or every 2–4 weeks, and a PHQ-9 suicidal-ideation response of "several days" or more raises a flag.

Best for: SimplePractice practices with moderate MBC needs who want everything inside one system.

Trade-offs: Changes are shown, not interpreted against reliable-change thresholds. No daily tracking between administrations, no caseload-level outcome view for a solo clinician. SimplePractice's public pages don't say which plan includes it. Many clinicians run both — the EHR for the record, a dedicated tool for the measurement workflow; we wrote up how that pairing works.

TherapyNotes built-in measures

TherapyNotes delivers outcome measures through TherapyPortal, auto-scores them with a total score and severity, and since March 2025 has an Outcome Measure Insights view that graphs a client's scores over time. The named library includes PHQ-9, PHQ-A, GAD-7, ACE, CAGE-AID, and AIMS, in English and Spanish, with more added periodically.

Best for: TherapyNotes practices whose needs are a handful of core measures, administered routinely.

Trade-offs: The library is small and the trending is descriptive — no threshold alerts, no reliable-change interpretation, no daily tracking. See how Theracharts pairs with TherapyNotes.

Owl Practice

Owl is a practice-management EHR with a genuine measurement-based-care module: 85+ clinical measures (PHQ, GAD-7, ACE, and more), automatic scoring including subscales, delivery by email or in session, and graphs in the client profile. In the US the measures ship on the Pro ($49) and Group ($49 per practitioner) tiers; in Canada on Professional and above.

Best for: Practices — particularly in Canada — already using Owl as their EHR.

Trade-offs: You're buying the EHR to get the measures, and they sit on the upper tiers. No alerting or threshold interpretation is described.

Valant

Valant is a behavioral-health EHR whose outcome-measures module lists 80+ instruments with automatic assignment: measures go to the client's portal ahead of appointments, score automatically, and are tracked over time in the chart, with completion tracking for staff. It's aimed at group practices and outpatient clinics.

Best for: Behavioral health groups already on Valant, or shopping for an EHR with measures built in.

Trade-offs: Sales-led; not a product a solo therapist adds alongside an existing EHR.

Mirah

Mirah is enterprise MBC: its product page says 400+ measures (the homepage says 540+), multi-respondent assessment (client, caregiver, teacher, provider combined into one report), collaborative-care workflows, and integrations via API, FHIR, HL7, and SFTP. It's built for health systems and large behavioral-health organizations and priced accordingly.

Best for: Health systems and integrated-care programs that need EHR-level integration and multi-informant measurement.

Trade-offs: Not a solo-practice product. No self-serve pricing.

Trac9

Trac9 is an analytics platform for treatment programs — detox, residential, PHP, IOP, sober living, and MAT — rather than private practice. Programs run a weekly assessment battery (anxiety, depression, stress, craving, cue reactivity, and resilience factors), and the platform surfaces abnormal-progress alerts, weekly relapse-risk levels, supervision dashboards, and post-discharge monitoring for up to 12 months.

Best for: Program directors at SUD and higher-level-of-care programs who need program-level outcome reporting.

Trade-offs: Built and priced for facilities, not solo practice.

EBP Toolkit

EBP Toolkit serves behavioral health organizations that have standardized on specific evidence-based practices: it bundles training, supervision tools, and outcome tracking with validated measure libraries tied to 15 EBPs, auto-scoring, progress charts, and funder-ready reports. Pricing is listed as under $7 per active clinician per month with a one-time setup fee.

Best for: Agencies and community mental health centers tracking outcomes by EBP for funders.

Trade-offs: Organization-oriented; the measure count isn't published.

MyOutcomes and Better Outcomes Now

Both are built around the Outcome Rating Scale and Session Rating Scale — the four-item, every-session instruments at the heart of Feedback-Informed Treatment (MyOutcomes) and PCOMS (Better Outcomes Now). Each plots the client against a predicted trajectory and alerts when a case is off course. MyOutcomes' solo plan is $250 per year with unlimited administrations and a mobile app; Better Outcomes Now prices on request.

Best for: Clinicians trained in FIT or PCOMS who want the ORS/SRS workflow specifically.

Trade-offs: The narrow focus is intentional but limiting. If you want to track depression with the PHQ-9 or trauma with the PCL-5, you need another tool.

Mentalyc

Mentalyc takes a different angle. Rather than questionnaires, it analyzes session recordings or transcripts to track progress toward goals, symptom-severity fluctuations, and therapeutic-alliance trends, and generates notes from that analysis. Plans run $19.99 to $119.99 per month.

Best for: Therapists who want session-derived signals as a complement to self-report data.

Trade-offs: It has no standardized measure library — clients still complete PHQ-9s and GAD-7s somewhere — and recording every session carries consent and workflow implications.

Direct answers to the questions therapists actually ask

Which software compares client scores before and after treatment?

Every tool on this list except Mentalyc charts a client's scores over time, so all of them show "before" and "after." The useful distinction is whether the change is interpreted. SimplePractice shows change since baseline; TherapyNotes and Owl graph the series; PsychSurveys and Greenspace chart scores. Theracharts compares the change against a published threshold for that specific measure and labels it reliable, clinically meaningful, or within measurement error. The thresholds it uses for the most common measures:

MeasureChange thresholdKindSource
PHQ-95 pointsMCIDLöwe et al., 2004, Medical Care
GAD-74 points / 6 pointsMCID / RCI (95%)Toussaint et al., 2020, J. Affective Disorders; Jacobson-Truax computation
PCL-510 points / 15 pointsClinical response / RCI (95%)National Center for PTSD; Marx et al., 2022, Psychological Assessment
CORE-106 pointsRCI (90%)Barkham et al.
ISI8 pointsTreatment responseMorin et al., 2011
DASS-21 subscales9 points eachDerived RCIHenry & Crawford, 2005

If a tool you're evaluating can't tell you what threshold it uses, it isn't comparing before and after — it's plotting two numbers.

What software do program directors use to track client outcomes?

It depends on the level. At the program and agency level — where the question is "are our outcomes improving across clinicians, and can we show a funder?" — the tools are Mirah (health systems, multi-informant, HL7/FHIR), Trac9 (SUD and higher levels of care, weekly batteries, relapse-risk alerts), EBP Toolkit (agencies tracking by evidence-based practice), and Greenspace's organizational tier. At the group-practice level, a practice owner or clinical director wants a caseload-wide outcomes dashboard and supervisor visibility into individual charts: Theracharts provides both from the second seat, Valant and Owl provide it inside the EHR, and SimplePractice provides per-client graphs but no practice-level rollup.

Which tools embed validated assessments directly into therapy?

All of the questionnaire-based tools do; the differences are library size and where the measure is completed. Theracharts (100+), PsychSurveys (267 surveys), Mirah (400+), Blueprint (600+ tools including worksheets), Owl (85+), Valant (80+), Greenspace (18–26 on individual plans), SimplePractice (~23), and TherapyNotes (a core set) all deliver measures through a client portal or app for completion between sessions. Theracharts and PsychSurveys also add daily diary cards between the scored instruments. MyOutcomes and Better Outcomes Now embed the ORS at the start and the SRS at the end of every session by design.

How do I track therapy outcomes with software?

The workflow is the same in every tool; only the friction differs. Pick one or two measures per client that match the presenting problem (PHQ-9 for depression, GAD-7 for anxiety, PCL-5 for trauma). Administer at intake to establish a baseline. Re-administer on a fixed cadence — every session for brief measures, every two to four weeks for longer ones — and have the client complete it on their phone before the appointment. Review the trend before the session, not during it. Act on the data: when scores aren't moving by mid-treatment, that's the moment to revisit the formulation or the plan. Then get the numbers into your note, either by pasting a summary or attaching a PDF. We wrote a step-by-step outcome tracking setup guide for a private practice.

Is there an independent ranking of behavioral health outcome tracking systems?

No. There's no accrediting body or peer-reviewed benchmark that rates these products, and the review sites (G2, Capterra) skew toward EHRs because that's where the review volume is. The honest way to evaluate an outcome tracking system is to test it against the six criteria at the top of this article with your own caseload for two weeks — most of the tools here offer a free plan or trial — and to ask each vendor two questions: which change thresholds do you use, and what happens when a client endorses a risk item.

How to choose

Is outcome tracking the main thing, or one feature among many? If you primarily need scheduling, billing, and notes, an EHR with built-in measures may be enough. If measurement is core to how you practice, a dedicated tool will serve you better.

Solo practice, group practice, or program? Mirah, Trac9, and EBP Toolkit are built for organizations. PsychSurveys, Greenspace's individual plans, and MyOutcomes are sized for one clinician. Theracharts, Blueprint, and Greenspace span solo and group.

What does your EHR already include? SimplePractice's ~23 measures cover more ground than people expect. If they're enough, you may not need a separate tool. If not, a dedicated platform is almost always cheaper than switching EHRs.

Which assessments do you actually need? A wide library points to Theracharts, PsychSurveys, or Mirah. A FIT or PCOMS practice points to the ORS/SRS tools. Greenspace's curated sets suit many general practices.

Do you want daily tracking between sessions? Only Theracharts and PsychSurveys offer configurable diary cards alongside scored instruments.

Do you want the tool to interpret, or just collect? Threshold-based change interpretation, risk and trajectory alerts, and paste-ready summaries separate an interpretation layer from a delivery tool. That's the line between Theracharts on one side and PsychSurveys and the EHR built-ins on the other.

Frequently asked questions

What is outcome tracking software for therapists?

Software that delivers validated clinical measures (PHQ-9, GAD-7, PCL-5, and others) to clients, scores them automatically, and charts the results over the course of treatment so a therapist can see whether a client is improving, stalling, or deteriorating. Outcome measurement software, outcome assessment software, and measurement-based care software are the same category.

Is outcome tracking software worth it for a solo therapist?

Usually yes, and the entry cost is low: Theracharts has a free plan, PsychSurveys is about $5 a month, and Greenspace starts at $24.99. The research on measurement-based care shows it improves outcomes and catches deterioration earlier; the software is what makes doing it every session realistic.

Do I need outcome tracking software if my EHR has PHQ-9 and GAD-7?

Not necessarily. SimplePractice includes about 23 measures with baseline comparison, and TherapyNotes and Owl graph scores over time. Dedicated tools add a larger library, threshold-based interpretation of change, automatic alerts, daily tracking between sessions, and summaries you can paste back into your notes.

Which outcome tracking tool is cheapest?

PsychSurveys at $4.99–5.99 per month is the cheapest paid option with a full library. Theracharts is free for up to 10 active clients, then $25 per therapist per month or $250 per year.

Can outcome tracking software replace my EHR?

Most can't and shouldn't. Theracharts, PsychSurveys, Greenspace, and Mirah are designed to run alongside an EHR. Blueprint offers an EHR tier; Owl and Valant are EHRs. Keep the legal record where it is and add the measurement layer next to it.

What is a reliable change index, and why does it matter for outcome tracking?

A reliable change index (RCI) is the amount a score has to move before the change is larger than the measure's own error — for example, 15 points on the PCL-5 or 6 points on the GAD-7. A minimal clinically important difference (MCID) is the smallest change clients experience as meaningful — 5 points on the PHQ-9. Without one of these thresholds, a chart can't tell you whether a drop is real improvement or noise.

A note on the broader category

Most therapists still don't routinely track outcomes. In a survey of 504 clinicians, Jensen-Doss and colleagues (2018) found that only 13.9% used standardized progress measures at least monthly and 61.5% never did — even though the evidence is strong that routine measurement improves treatment results and catches deterioration earlier. The reasons are real: tooling has been clunky, EHRs treat assessments as paperwork, and graduate programs rarely teach measurement-based care as a core clinical skill.

That's changing. The tools listed here are part of the change. None of them is perfect, and the right choice depends on your practice, but the floor is rising. A solo therapist can now get outcome-tracking infrastructure that would have been unthinkable five years ago — in most cases free, or for less than the cost of one billable hour a month.

If you're not tracking outcomes yet, picking any of these tools is a meaningful step forward. If you are, it's worth asking whether your current setup interprets the data or just collects it.


Theracharts is the outcome tracking platform at the top of this list — built by a licensed clinician for therapists who want to use outcome data, not just collect it. Start free →